The Art of Being Human

Raising little human beings has been like throwing endless amounts of fairy dust at my children into the wind and hoping for a spark. My math skills are limited to trying to figure out what time to set my alarm in the morning, and I don’t always get that right. So, my fairy dust was laden heavily with the arts.

“The purpose of art is washing the dust of daily life off our souls.”
Pablo Picasso

We danced a lot when my children were young. Freeze dancing with friends, or just the four of us in the kitchen, we’d turn the music on loud, and bust a move. One of my favorite memories. Pure joy.

“Come Fairies, take me out of this dull world, for I would ride with you upon the wind and dance upon the mountains like a flame!”
William Butler Yeats

The walls in my house are covered with the artwork created by my children. The fine art fairy dust has sparked a blaze, particularly bright in one of my offspring. A gift.

“Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.”
Thomas Merton

The sounds of guitar, alto sax, violin, piano, a voice singing jazz, have filled my home sporadically over the past twelve years. We are not the Von Traps, or the Partridge family. (I only play Pandora.) Music sparked with two, and then there was one. One who feels music, sings and plays 3 instruments. Blessed.

“Music is the soul of the universe.”
Plato

My youngest is still trying to emerge from his dust deluge. It appears film and photography may be where his humanity will lie. A gift yet to be revealed.

“The world is but a canvas to our imagination.”
Henry David Thoreau

For myself: literature, art, dance, theater, and music have all been a great escape from the mundane my entire life.

“One man cannot practice many arts with success.”
Plato

Oh.
Strike a Chordhttp://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/strike-a-chord/

<a href="https://

3 thoughts on “The Art of Being Human

Leave a Reply

