House Dirt Blues

You know I got me a day off but my house is a pig sty
You know I got me a day off but my house is a pig sty
I’ll be cleaning this damn house all day
And I’m not gonna lie

When I’m off work I should be relaxing and having me time
When I’m off work I should be relaxing and having me time
Instead I’m down on my knees
washing floors and scrubbing grime

Sink’s piled high full of dishes and the counters a big mess
Sink’s piled high full of dishes and the counters a mess
How much time will this room waste
I don’t even want to guess

Now you know my bathroom mirror is smudged and splattered with toothpaste
Now you know my bathroom mirror is smudged and splattered with toothpaste
Washed it off with paper towels
The empty toilet roll replaced

The vacuum cleaner’s out, it’s gonna catch some dust bunnies
The vacuum cleaner’s out, it’s gonna catch some dust bunnies
Now the house is clean
If I only had some money

I’ve got the day off dirty house no money anyhow blues
I’ve got the day off dirty house no money anyhow blues
I’ll go to the library, it’s free
What do I have to loose?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Free Association
The Daily Post
January 25, 2015
Daily Prompt
Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . .
. . . home.
. . . soil.
. . . rain.
Use those words in the title of your post.

<a href="http://Free Association“>Free Association

7 thoughts on “House Dirt Blues

  1. Ah, Lydia…If I lived nearer, I’d come help you clean your (I bet not so dirty as you represent it) house and then we could both go out for a margarita and sit and not talk but write a poem instead!!! But since I’m not, glad you turned your rainy day low down house blues into a poem anyway!!! Judy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

