Most Importantly

Like everyone else who’s been alive for- a while, I’ve been a lot of different people. I’ve done a lot of different things, always in search of my missing piece, to quote Shel Silverstein.

What has been missing in me? What did I need to be at peace in my skin? What is important to me today? What five things would I grab if my house were on fire, assuming all people and animals already made it out?

If I were asked these questions throughout the different phases I’ve gone through in my life, the answer would be a wide range of crazy: my dance bag, cigarettes, portfolio, scripts, manual, id’s, uniform, church group notebook, art supplies, room mom supplies, photo albums… and always my makeup bag.

Today though my first thought was nothing. I could let it all go. I see myself as the big O in Shel’s book, rolling along sometimes with other o’s along side me, sometimes alone. I pass birds and butterflies, and stop to smell the flowers. I pass an occasional weirdo that I roll right past as I laugh inwardly at how nice it is to be a complete circle. I’m at peace in my skin as long as my children are safe. Then I let my mind drift through each room of my old drafty house…

IMG_1616-0 I want my smart phone. My phone is my link to information, to the rest of the world, my blog, Google, and I can read my books on it. Without my smart phone I am a moron really.
~

IMG_1609My books. I’ve been on a treasure hunt. I’ve been accumulating these books for a several years. It’s been a distraction since my marriage started to fall apart. Many found on the shelves of goodwill, half price books, eBay. When I find an beautiful old book, a classic hardcover with the binding intact, and the pages unmarred, that is a great feeling. These old books have survived so many years, and it would be a shame for them to be destroyed while in my care, so they are saved by me from the fire.
~

IMG_1608My children’s artwork is framed, and displayed on my walls. It ranges from a first grade drawing my son created depicting the old lady who swallowed a fly, to my daughters senior high school artwork. This art is what makes this old house my home.
~
So that’s it, three things, not five. I don’t need this other stuff, because I am complete in my skin. Feng Shui it away… and the dirty laundry along with it. Of course I’d like to keep some makeup too.

What would you save?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*feature image credit:
cover art from
“The Missing Piece” by Shel Silverstein

The Daily Post
Jan 29, 2015
Burning Down the House
Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

<a href="http://Burning Down the House“>Burning Down the House

4 thoughts on “Most Importantly

Leave a Reply

