Oh Deer

In the wee morning hours of a crisp autumn day

Heavy fog, light mist, and the sky a bit gray 

A routine drive to work through a forest preserve 

Resplendent fall colors for me to observe

When out of the woods ahead on my left 

Charging toward my jeep was a stag of great heft

Squeezing the wheel as I slammed on my brakes

Life flashed before me I saw pearly gates

I expected to die under a deer in that jeep

But instead of an impact the buck took a leap

I watched the beast lift and descend overhead 

Falling fast toward the windshield soon enough I’d be dead

But then as if by devine intervention

His hoof pushed off my hood- I must mention

The beast jumped over the top of my car

Left it with a hoof print but on me not a scar __________________________

Daily Post, Feb 26, 2015, Daily Prompt

Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding, belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fight-or-flight/”>Fight or Flight</a>

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fight-or-flight/”>Fight or Flight</a>

6 thoughts on “Oh Deer

  1. That would have done it for me, too. Probably dead of a heart attack. I have been VERY lucky to not have one of those encounters. We have a lot of deer around here and the roads are dark and surrounded by woods on both sides. So far, so good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

