Ah Me

Saturday at last, and it’s all about me
What will I do? I can’t wait to see
A typical Saturday would have me working
Not today- although I see laundry is lurking
Feh- I look past it because that’s how I roll
Me time is a-wasting, selfish fun is my goal
My house could use some TLC (tidying and light cleaning)
Forgetaboutit me says that would be demeaning
A look at my agenda makes everything clear
The reason I’m off? A celebration is near
A lunch party for dear mum whose aged yet again
I’ll stop on the way: a gift, a card- bring a pen
Not a surprise party because she’s eighty one
A shock could be deadly, that wouldn’t much be fun
We siblings and grandkids will gather at noon
We’ll toast to dear mum, release doves and balloons
Then after the gifts desert and goodbyes
We go separate ways- my how me time flies
The rest of the long afternoon will truly be mine
That damned laundry makes me an offer I can’t decline
While I could choose my fun from so many things
I’ll tackle a list- oh the satisfaction that brings
By now, you may have realized that I’m being snarky
I work tomorrow, for single moms, me time is malarkey
_____________________________________
The Daily Post, Feb 28, 2015, Daily Prompt: Me Time~ What’s your ideal Saturday morning? Are you doing those things this morning? Why not? href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/me-time/”>Me Time</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/me-time/”>Me Time</a>