La Ville Lumière

“Once upon a time, on the north shore of Long Island, some thirty miles from New York, there lived a small girl on a large estate. The estate was very large indeed, and had many servants. There were gardeners to take care of the gardens, and a tree…”  ~Sabrina

Sometimes I imagine a life without responsibilities: children, mortgage, pets, work, home. I feel the copious weight of it all lifted off my shoulders, and replaced with a light feeling of freedom. I can almost taste the selfish fearlessness of packing my clothes and going somewhere, anywhere for a year…

I’ve always harbored a romantic vision of Paris: the old Billy Wilder film “Sabrina”, in which Audrey Hepburn plays the title character Sabrina, the chauffeurs daughter who attends culinary school Paris and returns a sophisticated woman. Who wouldn’t want to be that girl? Who wouldn’t want to live in that romantic film version of The City of Light, La Ville Lumière… for a year anyway? 

My phone vibrates with a text: “Mom, I forgot my gym clothes by the front door, can you please bring them to the school office?” The dryer pings to let me know the clothes need to be folded. The dog whimpers at the back door, begging me to open it. I put my pen down, and leave my work schedule issues for later.  

Who needs Paris? I kind of like to be needed here. 

______________________________

The Daily Post, March 12, 2015, Daily Prompt, Study Abroad: If you were asked to spend a year living in a different location, where would you choose and why?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/study-abroad/”>Study Abroad</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/study-abroad/”>Study Abroad</a>

3 thoughts on “La Ville Lumière

Leave a Reply

