In My Humble Opinion

I used to turn on the television every morning and listen to the news as I went through my morning ablutions. Then, I’d get in my car and drive the 35 minutes to work, (35 if I didn’t get pulled over for speeding), while listening  to news radio. I’d get to work and, when I had down time, I’d read discarded news papers. What did I learn?

I learned a few things during that time in my life. First of all, at some point I realized that the information I was getting was often fed to the news media by people with power and money, so I was getting a skewed one sided story, a bit like historic fiction only current. 

The second thing I learned was that this is a sick world: children raped and murdered, pointless wars, gruesome violence in the name of religion, political corruption, the environmental crisis, the Kardashians. 

The third thing that I realized was that all this information was depressing the hell out of me. I took it all in, and it made me sad. I could have discussed all the current events on an expert news panel and pulled it off, but that wasn’t likely to happen. I’m just a worker bee with no way of changing the hive. My knowledge wouldn’t change anything.

So for my own preservation, my sanity, I turned off the television. I started listening to music when I got ready for work in the morning. Singing along with Billy Holliday, Sam Cook, Freddy Mercury, etc. was much better for my mood than CNN or BBC World News. In my car I listen to books on tape and escape in fiction. Instead of grabbing a newspaper, I always have a book in hand. 

I’m no longer well informed on current events. When someone mentions the depressed pilot who killed himself, along with his co-workers, and everyone who had purchased a ticket on his flight, I am surprised and very sorry, but I don’t need to know the details. I can’t really discuss politics with the knowledge I use to have at a dinner party, but discussing politics and religion are frowned upon at social gatherings anyway… not to mention the fact that I don’t have a social life, so that is a purely hypothetical example. 

The bottom line is that ignorance is bliss. I like to live my life like Katie from “Horton Hears a Who”. She said: “In my world, everyone is a pony, and they all eat rainbows and poop butterflies.” Katie and I are happy, so don’t judge us.

______________________________

Link to an item in the news you’ve been thinking about lately, and write the op-ed you’d like to see published on the topic.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/imho/”>IMHO</a&gt;<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/imho/”>IMHO</a&gt;

5 thoughts on “In My Humble Opinion

  1. Many years ago, while Garry was still a working reporter, I read a whole report about how to de-stress. One of the suggestions was to stop watching or reading the news. This was not practical since my husband was one of the guys on the TV every night delivering the bad news … but now, in our retirement? Neither of us keeps up with the news. And we ARE happier because of it. Garry reads the sports and entertainment. I let him tell me what’s going on. A win-win.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

