Banking Karma

I am an extremist in that I have a tendency to either A– overthink things or B– completely dumb things down. 

My first reaction to the todays question of where I stand regarding karma, was to A– to read up on karma, to discern whether the idea in my head of what karma actually entails is close to what the Hindu and Buddhist religions believe. I found so much written on the subject, that I think I sprained something in my head. To truly understand all the variables, I’d have to spend much more time than I have allotted myself for this daily post. 

As such, I switch to my other extreme, B– I dumb it down. 

Google definition- Karma is: the sum of a person’s actions in this and previous states of existence, viewed as deciding their fate in future existences. 

If karma were money, and every good deed was rewarded with cash in the bank, and every bad deed was a withdrawal, where would I be today? I did read that these deeds must be intentional to be actionable, or go into your good or bad karma savings account. 

I have a conscience. I try to live my life ethically, and treat everyone with respect. I’ve made a million mistakes in my life, but as I said, mistakes don’t count. Based on that, my karma bank account is pretty hefty and I should be able to retire soon. 

Let’s try another analogy for those of you who live in co-op communities that barter goods and services rather than dealing with cash and banks, thus limiting your understanding of banking. If Karma were a pizza, and each good deed meant you could add a topping, and each bad deed meant you’d have to loose a topping, would you want to eat your pizza? 

One more comparison, because everything happens in threes: If karma was your mouth, and good deeds gave you a tooth while misdeeds took a tooth, where in the United States would you live?

________________________________________

The Daily Post, April 18, 2015, Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon~ This just in: let’s pretend that science has proven that karma is a thing. Your words and actions will influence what happens to you in the future. How (if at all) will you change your ways?a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/karma-chameleon-2/”>Karma Chameleon</a>a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/karma-chameleon-2/”>Karma Chameleon</a>

4 thoughts on “Banking Karma

Leave a Reply

