Dismounting Everest

I require a Sherpa to guide me to the top without the aid of O2, an expert who can navigate the unstable terrain at the extreme altitudes of which my body is not acclimatized. Along the way, I visualize success. I imagine myself when I do conquer this mountain, past the dull muted shades of earth, over the uneven environs, finally at the summit, my hair blowing wildly in the cold thin air and I try to remember why I’m here…

“Come fairies, take me out of this dull world, for I would ride with you upon the wind and dance upon the mountains like a flame!”
William Butler Yeats 

 
This mountain of laundry that has amassed over the past ten days rivals Everest. Since my dryer’s spirit left us ten days ago, the house has seemed so very quiet, an absence of white noise. The quiet reminds me that she was always working. Laundry is a constant in a house of teens who swim.
I had brought her back to life twice over the years myself with the help of YouTube and Google, but this time it was her motor that gave out. Her spirit left with one last exhaled breath of hot dry wind and she sailed out of this dull world, and took flight to a place where she can spin freely without the burden of: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet, whites, delicates and heavily soiled garments weighing her down.
“But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.”
William Butler Yeats
Three days after the last load of clean towels was dry, I came to grips with the fact that she took her last tumble. It was time to find a replacement. Heartless as it seems, it was a necessity, the cycle of life. Not planning this tragedy into my budget I had to be frugal. I searched: online, at outlet stores, home centers finally settling on a discontinued floor model. Quite a lovely way to spend days off work, don’t you think? The earliest delivery date that wouldn’t require my losing time at work was today. Today the new addition to the household will arrive, and the tired and empty fetid carcass will be removed. 

“All empty souls tend toward extreme opinions.”
William Butler Yeats

My thoughts are on the mountain of clothes that await and conquering it at last with my new dryer. She has a steam cycle. ~

There are no strangers here; only friends you haven’t yet met.”
William Butler Yeats
______________________________________

The Daily Post, April 20, 2015, Daily Prompt:  Roy G Biv~ Write about anything you’d like, but make sure that all seven colors of the rainbow — red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet — make an appearance in the post, either through word or image.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/roy-g-biv/”>Roy G. Biv</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/roy-g-biv/”>Roy G. Biv</a>

 

4 thoughts on “Dismounting Everest

  1. I love this post. I love your use of poetry and Everest and laundry. Anyone who has ever had to replace a not-necessarily-loved-but-absolutely-essential appliance knows that range of emotions combined with irritation and frustration. And hating to spend the money! Didn’t I just buy it? Really? That long ago?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

