Too Soon

“Better three hours too soon than a minute too late.” ~William Shakespeare

The gray April sky spits snow flurries into the wind as I head to my car. This is nothing like what April weather should be if you ask me, but no one asked me, and April 22 is indeed today’s date. I have a dining room table covered with the flowers that I suspected it was too early to purchase and hang, but I did purchase and hang them last week. Optimistic or delusional? Yes and yes. In my defense, the day I purchased these flowers the temperature was near sixty five. I have experienced April snow storms in my lifetime, but somehow I thought that buying these flowers would make the warm weather stick.

Chastised by everyone I’ve mentioned my flowers to: “Never buy flowers before Mothers Day! Don’t you know that?” Apparently I did not know that. Why do they sell flowers before Mother’s Day anyway? What kind of dirty trick is that? Flowers are in every store now. If everyone adhered to the Mother’s Day rule, stores wouldn’t stock flowers now, three weeks before anyone purchased them, and yet I haven’t seen one house with hanging baskets except mine. I can’t possibly be the only fool who bought flowers. So where are they?

I also put my winter coat away, and no matter how cold it gets, I refuse to put my coat back on until fall. It has been spring for a month after all.

_________________________________

The Daily Post, April 22. 2015, Daily Post: Slash and Burn~Write 500 words on any topic you like. Now remove 250 of them without changing the essence of your post.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/slash-and-burn/”>Slash and Burn</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/slash-and-burn/”>Slash and Burn</a>

3 thoughts on “Too Soon

  1. “I also put my winter coat away, and no matter how cold it gets, I refuse to put my coat back on until fall.” By golly, we can’t control the weather but we can take a stand! We may be buried up to our lips in snow and ice, but we remain undaunted. You show ’em!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

