Never a Pony

The no replacement policy is in effect. Over the span of twenty years, I’ve been responsible for five dogs, three cats, one hedgehog, two dwarf Russian hamsters, one short haired teddy bear hamster, two fire bellied toads, one bearded dragon, countless fish, and four lovebirds. 

What Grand Canyon sized void have I been trying to fill? If only my parents had given me that damn pony I would have gotten all this out of my system. 

The remaining pets are: two dogs, and one bearded dragon. 

 

Folle Phoebe~ We say Folle Phoebe because Phoebe is crazy, and because we like to pretend we’re French. She is almost twelve and may have calmed down a bit this past year. We adopted Phoebe when she was ten months old from Kay’s Animal Shelter.  

**The photo of Phoebe has been altered. Sadly, Phoebe has never been to Paris.

 

Bon Fille Simone~ We say Bon fille Simone because Simone is a good girl, and because we like to pretend we’re French. She’s almost three years old. We adopted her when she was three months old having found her at the online pet rescue website called Petfinder.com

 

Ernie (aka Fluffy)~ Usually we call her “the lizard”, but we say it with a French accent.

These creatures have taught my children responsibility, and compassion, and they offer companionship and unconditional love. They taught me that the mom has the ultimate responsibility as the creatures caregiver, regardless of promises. They’re worth it.

I’d like to share a short story written by Shel Sylverstein that my children often used in their arguments when they wanted another pet:

Little Abigail and the Beautiful Pony

There was a girl named Abigail
Who was taking a drive
Through the country
With her parents
When she spied a beautiful sad-eyed
Grey and white pony.
And next to it was a sign
That said,
FOR SALE—CHEAP.
“Oh,” said Abigail,
“May I have that pony?
May I please?”
And her parents said,
“No you may not.”
And Abigail said,
“But I MUST have that pony.”
And her parents said,
“Well, you can have a nice butter pecan
Ice cream cone when we get home.”
And Abigail said,
“I don’t want a butter pecan
Ice cream cone,
I WANT THAT PONY—
I MUST HAVE THAT PONY.”
And her parents said,
“Be quiet and stop nagging—
You’re not getting that pony.”
And Abigail began to cry and said,
“If I don’t get that pony I’ll die.”
And her parents said, “You won’t die.
No child ever died yet from not getting a pony.”
And Abigail felt so bad
That when she got home she went to bed,
And she couldn’t eat,
And she couldn’t sleep,
And her heart was broken,
And she DID die—
All because of a pony
That her parents wouldn’t buy.
Authors Note:
(This is a good story
To read to your folks
When they won’t buy
You something you want.)

__________________________________

The Daily Post, April 27, 2015, Daily Prompt: Menagerie~ Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/menagerie/”>Menagerie</a&gt;<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/menagerie/”>Menagerie</a&gt;

13 thoughts on “Never a Pony

  1. I TOLD my mother, the pony could live in the garage, merely requiring a small upgrade to an existing facility. We had a lot of lawn. Free grazing. For reasons that completely escaped my understanding, these arguments never convinced her. Or, apparently, any other mother. I still think my reasoning was sound. Just mom was unreasonable and refused to listen to my logic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My last dog before we adopted Simone was a beautiful 165 lbs Irish Wolfhound. She was the pony I never had. Sadly she didn’t have the life span of a pony. She only lived to be eight.

      Like

    1. Oui Simone is a Malti-poo. She was a breeder release to the shelter because she’s defective. She is deaf, and has a bad knee that keeps popping out of joint. Eventually will need surgery. Also she doesn’t look like a multi-poo, just a malti. She is perfect! The quintessential lap dog, always has to be on a lap.

      Like

Leave a Reply

