When I Travel, I like

To see where history happened 

Castles 

The infamous tower

Attend a play

Under the stars 

In the ruins of 

An ancient outdoor theater

Ride a gondola

Eat a beautiful meal

I want an adventure 

To bike down an inactive volcano

To parasail

Zip glide through a jungle

I can relax at home

I don’t want to sit on some beach

And “work” on a tan

While a cabana boy fans me 

As I sip a Mai Tai

On second thought…

I might be able to fit that in 

After I climb a mountain

Past the ruins

To see the art in the museum 

________________________________ 

The Daily Post, April 29, 2015, Daily Post: The Happy Wanderer~ What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-happy-wanderer/”>The Happy Wanderer</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-happy-wanderer/”>The Happy Wanderer</a>

3 thoughts on “When I Travel, I like

    1. I want to visit all of Europe. England, Scotland, Italy, France. I’ve seen Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, but I was young, and not obsessed with the history like I am now. I’d like to see it again. Also, when I was fifteen, visiting family in Athens, I was fortunate enough to see a performance of “Electra” at the Athens Festival at the ancient Herod Atticus Theater. We sat under the stars in the open air. It was an amazing thing. I don’t know if it’s still used, but even at fifteen, I knew that was an experience of a lifetime. To have time, money, and the health all at the same time and do it all…

      Like

Leave a Reply

