Follow Me

My hearing, or lack of hearing is often a source of humiliation for me. An incident a couple of years ago which resulted in two ruptured ear drums left me a bit hard of hearing. The frequent misunderstandings resulting from diminished hearing can be humorous. E.g. A Christmas dinner conversation two years ago with my mother, who suffers age related hearing loss, was quite entertaining to the rest of the table because we were both talking about completely different things, but we thought we were having a normal conversation. More typically the mistakes are discomposing. 

I had been sitting in the orthodontists office waiting room on Tuesday for about thirty minutes while my son was in with the doctor. This child, who is a good six inches taller than I am, snuck up behind me in the waiting room and said, I thought, “follow me“. He took off at a very brisk clip on his extremely long legs. I scurried to my feet and grabbed my purse, book, sweater, keys, and I did follow him. I struggled to keep up, down an endless hall and around a winding corridor until finally he pushed open a heavy door. I thought it might be an exit. 

We had barged into the examining room. I stupidly stood behind my son who had forgotten his backpack in a corner. This prompted the doctor to take his fingers out of his next patients mouth, remove the gloves and mask, walk over to me, and give me the details of my sons progress: which braces were tightened and replaced, what would be done next, etc. I apologized profusely for barging in. He had no idea what my problem was, and I felt like a crazy idiot. My son tells me I’m too sensitive. Our new inside joke is to end every sentence with “follow me“. 

So, what did I learn as a result of my most recent mortification? 

Do not follow, lead.

____________________________________

 The Daily Post, May 9, 2015, Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy~ Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cringe-worthy/”>Cringe-Worthy</a&gt;<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cringe-worthy/”>Cringe-Worthy</a&gt;

7 thoughts on “Follow Me

  1. I generally repeat back what I am told, especially if uncertain… Unfortunately, due to hearing loss (in my case due to cholesteatoma in my rt ear), what I hear is not what is said… “The item is in the hall” gets heard as “the item is in the wall (or even ball)”… That’s a more benign example.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Garry is very hard of hearing. We have some conversations and arguments where we are arguing about something I never said but he thought I said, or something I think he ignored but he never heard it, or we are having two different conversations. It is funny in retrospect, but not so funny at the time and frustrating for both of us. Especially Garry. It’s never going to get better so a sense of humor is our only hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always think of Gilda Radner and her character Emily Littela from SNL when I think of hearing loss. Problem is I’ve become Emily. My hearing loss is age related, but I still teach and often have to have kids repeat themselves. Since I teach drama, I have an advantage. The kids are forced to speak louder and clearer. I guess my handicap has turned into a blessing for them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

