Fifth Time’s the Charm

Tonight is Prom Night. My daughter just this week told me that the dress she’s had for several weeks needed alterations. This issue should have been addressed weeks ago. Those who do alterations had their hands full, with the dresses of those who planned better than we did.

Luckily, I had vacation from work this week. Although my plan was to decimate my extensive to-do list, I spent most of the week with her prom dress, needle and thread in hand. I’ve measured, pinned, cut and hand stitched several flowing layers of a tulle and satin hem that was 4″ too long. Then I measured, cut and stitched panels into the front half of the bodice which was originally sheer, except for two cups. It’s a beautiful dress that should have been altered by someone with the training and skill I lack. I sew by hand because I never learned how to use a sewing machine.

We shopped for shoes and accessories yesterday, stopping to try on tiaras because, how could we not? It was fun until I had one of my reoccurring visions of myself as Mrs. Havisham. I’m afraid that tiara could blur the line that makes us two different people. I set the tiara back on the display, coughed and said: “Time to pay for these earrings and get home.” 

The dress is altered, accessories purchased, the boutonniere picked up, and pictures are at 4pm. Her date is a handsome, very charming senior. I am happy she’ll have this memory.

Did I mention that I never went to my prom. I bring this up every time I’m required to go through the expense and effort this ritual, hoping they’ll appreciate the experience a bit more with that knowledge. This is the fifth prom between my two girls. You would think it would be routine by now. When the time comes for my son to prepare for his prom I expect no drama. I’ve heard boys are much easier in that respect.

I think about about that tiara. I think about the prom I didn’t go to. I think about the parent who doesn’t make an effort to participate in these events, with the knowledge that his reading this wouldn’t change anything.
___________________________________
___________________________________

The Daily Post, May 16, 2015, Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation~ If you could have a guarantee that one, specific person was reading your blog, who would you want that person to be? Why? What do you want to say to them?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/singular-sensation-2/”>Singular Sensation</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/singular-sensation-2/”>Singular Sensation</a>The Daily Post, May 16, 2015, Daily Prompt:


6 thoughts on “Fifth Time’s the Charm

    1. It does seem to be a tradition you’ve got going. The idea of dressing in formal wear and dancing appeals to me now more than it did when I was at high school. I really have no regrets at not going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

