WHO IS IN CHARGE?

At the risk of sounding cynical, I’d like to take this opportunity to express my belief that even the most articulately written complaint expressing a valid concern regarding any subject sorely lacking in society, is an exercise in futility. The disorder in the world has not changed in essentials since the days when history was first recorded.

There has always been a division in classes. The rich, middle class, and poor have always existed. There has always been dissension in the ranks. There have always been wars and crimes against humanity. There has always been injustice.

I am one of billions with a valid argument and thoughts on how certain policies could be reformed in fairness, and using logic. My complaints are insignificant in the vast scheme of the worlds disorder. Apathy and corruption has kept us on course. Worldwide, 2.6 million children die of hunger related causes each year. The 1% of the population enjoys 48% of the worlds wealth. These global issues, are not unique to our times.

Let me add my apathy into the mix. I have tried my hand at fighting the system on a small scale. It didn’t take long for me to realize that any effort I expelled was molded and shaped into a tool that the powers that be could use in their favor for the appearance of fair play. “Look, we tried and there is no way to put your plan into effect, so let’s get back to work.” Smoke and mirrors.

Despite the fact that I like to pretend I’m French, and my imaginary boyfriend is British, and regardless of the fact my ancestors are descendants of the Ancient Greeks, who invented democracy, culture, theater, all the arts, frat houses, and yogurt, I am an American. We Americans like to think we do everything better than everyone else. That’s one of the reasons people don’t like us. Our system of government is better than that of any other country, our healthcare system is the best, our technology is cutting edge, we make the best hamburgers, our world is better than yours, so don’t try to tell us how we can improve.

I can hear the response from the Greek chorus already, {Greek chorus (Greek: χορός, khoros) is a homogeneous, non-individualised group of performers in the plays of classical Greece, who comment with a collective voice on the dramatic action.} :
“You are lucky to live in a country that gives you freedom of speech allowing you to complain like you do.” “You’re lucky to live in a country that’s affluent, with excellent healthcare…” (Don’t get me started on that.), “You’re lucky to be in a country where women are treated as equals because it isn’t that way everywhere…” (Don’t get me started on that.) “You’re lucky to have a job because…” (Don’t get me started.)

I know, I won the lottery when I was born. Why can’t I just be thankful and SHUT MY π (pi) HOLE? I’ll tell you why. I see the injustice. I see the price I pay as a woman. I see the plight of the middle class. I see the promise of that smoke ring you are trying to blow up my ass America. I am a single mom who essentially works two jobs to keep a roof over her children’s heads, barely making ends meet, and I’ve been told my children will get no financial aid for college because I “make too much money”! 

This my dear reader is my complaint. The United States does not invest in its future. The working stiff who doesn’t fit into the right category allocated for assistance is left out in the cold. We want to compete with Asia and Europe, but we don’t want to educate our children. If we want to have a future in technological innovation, scientific advancement, and new world industries, how about if we invest in college educations for everyone who wants one? Why do those in the middle always lose out?

I am tired of being the Jan Brady of this country. I want my fair share! I want financial aid for my children’s college educations. I want to be rewarded instead of penalized for working hard and making all the sacrifices I’ve made to do the right thing. Just throw another bag of sand on the shoulders of the middle class, Captain America. We’ll keep building your economy so you can reap the benefits of our blood sweat and tears. ____________________________________
The Daily Post, June 2, 2015, Daily Prompt: Dear Leader~ If your government (local or national) accomplishes one thing this year, what would you like that to be?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/dear-leader/”>Dear Leader</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/dear-leader/”>Dear Leader</a>

14 thoughts on “WHO IS IN CHARGE?

  1. Another hard hitting post without mincing any words. I can feel your frustration and agony since people feel the same in Asia and Europe too. Governments come and go, politicians make fake promises and retire but the people remain there where they had started years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t get me started either. Be lived long enough to see citizens who were proud of the country and even a nobody could run for office and you could trust him to do the job. Over the past fifty years there has been a decline in patriotism, because no one has faith in our House, Congress or president. Our freedoms are being slowly destroyed and our only voice as citizens is voting, but how many Americans believe that’s a fair process? Our only hope is to ask God to turn our country around.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

