From the Greek Word…

Let’s get all the stereotypes out of the way so I can just say what I want to say:

• Many Greeks own restaurants- my dad was one

• Many Greeks are proud of their heritage- every Greek I know

• Many Greeks feel like every other Greek is a personal friend, and they can sniff each other out in a crowd- whether they’ve met or not

 • Many Greeks like to point out all things of Greek origin- which is everything

• Many Greeks break down all words into their prefix, root, suffix, then define and translate all three, to demonstrate exactly how all words are from the Greek language- I guess I do that on occasion

The last point is the one I want to discuss. I had an uncle who was highly educated, and quite stereotypical in that he loved to share his knowledge as it related to Greek history. It was quite entertaining. He was a logophile- a Greek word of course: logo/word + phile/love. I guess I am too. The word crisis has Greek origins… Most words do. He would have broken down today’s word as follows.

Crisis: Greek of course- krísis decision, equivalent to kri- variant stem of krī́nein to decide, separate, judge. Sis- a suffix appearing in loanwords from Greek, where it was used to form from verbs abstract nouns of action, process, state, condition, etc.: thesis; aphesis

A crisis is the turning point in a series of events. Not necessarily the apogee, (also a Greek word), because things can get worse after a crisis. How many times have you said things couldn’t possibly get worse, and then the dog craps on the rug, or some such occurrence proves you wrong?

After all that, I want to share how I personally react to a crisis. While I don’t necessarily look for the humor in all situations, I do see it.  I’m not saying that I’m always doubled over laughing, because I have found myself in situations that humor does not typically lend itself to, but I manage to keep a level head because I see irony in all things. I also know when to keep it to myself. I don’t scare easily… unless my children are involved. 

Like most people, I’ve lived through events that If offered a choice, I’d have chosen not to. I’ve witnessed some horrible acts and experienced some firsthand. They’re part of life unfortunately, and I think that if you look closely at the word crisis, and it’s literal meaning, you can see that you have a choice. A crisis is a turning point that perhaps you can navigate to take you in the direction you want to go. Life is what you make it.

_____________________________________
The Daily Post, June 15, 2015, Daily Prompt: In A Crisis~Honestly evaluate the way you respond to crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/in-a-crisis/”>In a Crisis</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/in-a-crisis/”>In a Crisis</a>

2 thoughts on “From the Greek Word…

Leave a Reply

