8 AM

At 8 AM my phone pings with an email alert. The email is from The Daily Post. My writing prompt for the day is in this email. I open this email with anticipation and hope. My hope is that this will be the prompt that changes my life. It will inspire me to create a work of genius. This work of genius will be a gift, unlike any other—my gift to the reader. It will be Christmas morning, and my post will be the most meticulously ornate package ever conceived, a gift so beautiful that you hate to open it. But you do, and when you do, like a burst of sunlight so bright that it’s almost painful, it will bring tears to your eyes. But these are tears of joy, pure joy to the reader, from me. I am Santa Claus, and my post is “A Lot From Santa”. 

I open the email on my phone and read. This prompt inspires me to take my car in to the shop and think about it later. This prompt in fact, is so uninspiring, that I have to open the email several times throughout the day to reread it, because I can’t remember what it is. I do laundry and buy groceries. I make dinner and do some work. I pay bills and I think.

I realize that this will not be the day that my genius is unleashed. This will be the day that I complete my long to-do list. 

7:00 PM. I start to panic. No limerick, no Fifty word story, no parenting quips, no snarky divorce witticism, no middle aged Greek-American crushing on Colin Firth stories today. 

Disappointment has me by the throat. I’m choking. The Daily Post has murdered my creative soul. All hope is lost…until

Tomorrow At 8 AM
______________________________________

The Daily Post, June 25, 2015, Daily Prompt: The Golden Hour~ 6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00AM bedtime?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-golden-hour/”>The Golden Hour</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-golden-hour/”>The Golden Hour</a>

8 thoughts on “8 AM

  1. Loved this! That we should all be so uninspired.
    And I guarantee The Blog Propellant is as unequivocally inspiring as WPDP…if you want to check it out (hint, hint).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the follow! I promise to bore you to death at least 2x a week. In the meantime, peruse the 70-some prompts if you need a good night sleep (but don’t read the responses. I say this without irony because they’ll definitely tickle your inspiration bone).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

