I Am Lunch

Safety in numbers is the mentality of a herd of animals grouped together. Many ears listen for sounds of intrusion by predators, many noses sniff the air for beasts of prey. When one senses danger and reacts, the entire herd reacts. The group stays close together as they attempt to out run and escape danger. There is always a straggler in this dance of nature, and the weakest is taken down.

Negotiating, like the dance between predator and prey, is well choreographed, a dance between a seller and buyer.

Negotiating is also like chess. To best your opponent, you have to not only think several moves ahead, but you have to anticipate alternate moves. Practice is helpful, a true understanding the mechanics of the game is essential, but mental imagery, and pattern recognition is key. Extroverted players are shown to be strongest, and study’s find no link between chess skill and intelligence. The same can be said of those in sales, and beasts of prey.

Auto sales associates go through an intense training program- (psychological reprogramming), before they are unleashed onto the showroom floor. “What do I have to do to see you drive off the lot in this car?” is a learned technique, more than a predatory instinct one is born with.

As with certain cults, information on how this training is executed is kept on the down low. We can not know their secrets, because if we did we’d be prepared, and if we were prepared we’d put up a better fight before we were consumed.

I believe that new sales associates are deprogrammed, and stripped of all traces of compassion, empathy, and ethics. With a blank slate, the reprogramming can begin. Like a herd of hyenas, auto sales associates do not work alone. If one feels you are not responding well, they pass you off to another, and so on. The commission, your carcass, is shared among all.

I have spoken to two reformed shysters, individuals who managed to flee from their sales sect, and from them received the basis of my information. Once you understand their techniques, they are quite transparent in all buying experiences, from new and “pre-owned” autos, to rustproofing, extended warranties, insurance policies, telephone, television, internet service, etc.
I’ll share a few of their tactics:

• Give people fewer choices

• Put the key in their hand

• If you feel the seller is losing interest, try walking away. This shifts the power back to the seller (This can work both ways.)

• Don’t ask questions that can be answered with a no

• They are trained to believe that people actually like paying for stuff. So they are helping you by making you pay too much

A little over a year ago, I went through the harrowing experience of canceling my telephone land line. I wrote about it, and although I followed through with my intentions, I was bested. The bill for my internet, and my landline were “bundled”, so after wasting a good part on my life on hold, and arguing with a robo-voice, a human, (disconnect and repeat several times), I saved a whopping $4. a month.

This May, my “stand alone” internet service jumped 35% without warning. I am a very busy, and important person, (maybe not important), and I am without doubt that AT&T was banking on the fact that I wouldn’t notice the increase, or wouldn’t take the time to renegotiate. It has taken me a month, but today I completed my counter attack.

I have learned the key to winning a negotiation. The ultimate winner in this war is the buyer who is willing to walk away. The tactic that finally worked for me with my internet provider was that of “I want to disconnect.” Every time they offered me less than what I wanted, I said “I just need to cancel my service.” They went lower every time. My bill has been cut in half, and I have the same level of service by the same provider.

Keep that in mind the next time you are fending off an aggressive sales associate. Like a predator who smells the pheromones of an animal who is afraid, the sales team can sense that you want that car, or internet service, or whatever you are buying, and they will exploit that desire.

I’ve taken a lot of hits while dancing through these chess games of negotiations in my lifetime. I come across as a nice person, (pushover), which makes me the straggler in a heard of animals chased by a predator. I am lunch.
____________________________________
http://wp.me/p4qFBN-86

The Daily Post, July 13, 2015, Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect~ Tell us about a talent you’d love to have… but don’t.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/practice-makes-perfect/”>Practice Makes Perfect?</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/practice-makes-perfect/”>Practice Makes Perfect?</a>

4 thoughts on “I Am Lunch

    1. The hard sell must work on someone, otherwise, it wouldn’t be such a classic. It doesn’t work on me. I think the best defense is understanding their methods. The games are endless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

