And, Still Dancing

Music is a big part of my memories. These memories range from eight year old me sitting on my back porch, as a transistor radio played top forty hits, to freeze dancing with my children, as those same old songs played on a CD player many years later. There is one song however, that always immediately transports me back in time, to my eighth grade class, the last dance of the year, many many years ago… 

I am in the gymnasium of DeWitt Clinton Elementary school in Chicago Illinois. As a member of the student council, I helped decorate the gym with streamers and balloons. I am dateless, because awkward thirteen year old boys are awkward, and they’re thirteen year old boys. I am asked to dance by one such boy who I don’t really know anything about, other than the fact that he fits the demographic, and that he doesn’t smell great. I accept, because it would be hurtful to refuse, and even though my unfiltered inner voice can be bitchy, she is contained by my conscience. 

The music starts to play, and that silent, but unfiltered bitchy voice in my head curses profanities that would make a sailor blush, as I recognize the song. My unremitting bad luck has rolled snake eyes once again. The song that starts to play is the ten plus minute rendition of “Stairway to Heaven”. I do enjoy dancing, however slow dancing isn’t really dancing. It is essentially being held in a tight embrace by someone, in this case an awkward thirteen year old boy who doesn’t smell great, while stepping from side to side. 

Ten minutes can be a very long time. To illustrate how long ten minutes actually is, I’m going to pause here, and take a ten minute break before I continue with my post…

~~~

Check out this video on YouTube:
http://youtube/9Q7Vr3yQYWQ

______________________________________
The Daily Post, July 21, 2015, Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me~ A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/always-something-there-to-remind-me/”>Always Something There to Remind Me</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/always-something-there-to-remind-me/”>Always Something There to Remind Me</a>

8 thoughts on “And, Still Dancing

  1. Oh, God…not Stairway to Heaven! To this day I cannot abide that song for the exact same reason. His name was Richard and it was awful and I suffered much teasing the entire next week. I felt bad for Richard and I felt sorry for myself (I learned years later he became somewhat of a minor opera star. To hear that news made me smile).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

