I like Boring  

Summer time and the living is… “boring“, according to my idol teenagers. I am out of ideas as to how to entertain them before they are re-submerged into their sea of educational pursuits. We do have a mini trip planned for August, but until then, what to do? To be honest, I work a lot, and I lack the time and money to act as an entertainment envoy seven days a week. 

Cheer up teen lumps, there is always the library.

On that idea: “Oh my God Mom, are you kidding? I have my summer reading books if I want to read!”

My Response: “Well why don’t you read them?”

Teen reply: “Please mom, if I read them too early, I’ll forget what I read when school starts. If I do that, I may as well not read the book at all.”

Me: “____” – (I draw a blank.) Is it me, or is this a lame excuse? “I have an idea, the library has movies! Let’s watch some classics!”

Group response: “Groan, ugh, grrrr, are you kidding, no mom, black and white is boring.

My idea, so I choose my favorite comedy. I do aim to please, and keep in mind that my kids are musicians, so this should be right up their alley. Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon, Marilyn, it is a true classic:

“Some Like It Hot”

1929, two struggling Chicago musicians witness the Saint Valentines Day Massacre, making them the target of gangster Spats Columbo. In attempt to get out of town undetected, they disguise themselves as women to take a job with an all female band, as the new tenor sax and bass players. They are bound for a gig in Florida. Add some Sugar, (Marilyn Monroe), and this is the quintessential perfect comedy. 

I love this film. My teenagers don’t really seem to get the humor. I think about what they find funny, and I am perplexed, after all, I did give birth to these people. I suppose this is just another case of I’m right, and they’re wrong. ___________________________________

The Daily Post, July 28, 2015, Daily Prompt: Fourth Wall~ You get to spend a day inside your favorite movie. Tell us which one it is — and what happens to you while you’re there.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fourth-wall/”>Fourth Wall</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fourth-wall/”>Fourth Wall</a>

4 thoughts on “I like Boring  

  1. A GREAT choice of movies. One of my favorites. I love the last line …. “Well, nobody is perfect.” It just summed everything up.

    We could ALL do with a big dollop of boring. Life has been continuously far too interesting for way too long. I want a nice, peaceful, boring stretch of time. Preferably with decent weather and a friendly face smiling at me. And plenty of good books and a few movies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you really want to have some fun, put a password lock on their Wi-Fi and tell them the password will be revealed at the conclusion of a race–the race to see who can clean their bedroom the most thoroughly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

