Dear Facebook, 

I’ve tried, I’ve really tried to make this work. I’ve given so much of myself to you. I’ve shared my photos, little quips about how my day was going, my personal information, such as my birthday, (which you promptly shared with everyone I know, as you advised them of my age). For a while, I even let you track my movements, rendering my empty home vulnerable to robbery.

In return you gave me old friends with whom I’d lost touch, (some for good reason). You’ve kept me abreast of all my friends spectacular adventures, and all of their children’s triumphant achievements. You have given me information pertaining to work, allowing me to spend countless unpaid hours of what should have been my free time, debating union issues, and work rule changes. 

You did come close to being good for me, but you fell short. I hope you will keep up your valiant efforts to improve yourself, but just know it will not be for me. I can do better. I can’t be in this kind of social media. My rejection is not a reflection of you, it’s me… and to be honest I’m already on Twitter.

You’ve made me better at— drawing a blank on this one. Anyway, I hope I can still be “friends”. 

Best of luck to you.

Lydia
___________________________________

The Daily Post. July 31, 2015, Daily Prompt: Game of Groans~ Think about an object, an activity, or a cultural phenomenon you really don’t like. Now write a post (tongue in cheek or not — your call!) about why it’s the best thing ever.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/game-of-groans/”>Game of Groans</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/game-of-groans/”>Game of Groans</a>

4 thoughts on “Dear Facebook, 

Leave a Reply

