Awkward 

I could out myself for clumsiness

Or the stupid things I’ve said

The sad fact is this my norm

These incidents widespread

My arms marked up with oven burns

My face has connected with a door

And regarding high heeled oxfords, 

Just this week I hit the floor

My awkward attempts at humor

Miss their mark more than they hit

My words are often misconstrued

Am I not bright, or just a shit?

You may surmise that with frequency

These episodes become mundane

This topic bores me to my bones

This is just me, so why complain

I spill and trip and bump and break 

My accomplishments replete 

Until I humiliate myself somehow 

My day is not complete
____________________________________
The Daily Post, August 3, 2015, Daily Prompt: Isn’t Your Face Red~ When was the last time you were embarrassed? How do you react to embarrassment? <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/isnt-your-face-red/”>Isn’t Your Face Red</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/isnt-your-face-red/”>Isn’t Your Face Red</a>
 

3 thoughts on “Awkward 

  1. I’m covered with burns and healed scars from the uncounted times I’ve sliced off piece of me. I know there’s a mantra that “you are more likely to cut yourself with a dull knife,” but for me, I am simply going to cut myself more deeply and cleanly if the knife is sharp. I keep telling everyone, there are droplets of my blood absolutely EVERYWHERE in this house. CSI would have a ball convicting my husband of something he didn’t do.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually, I’ve been looking at those chain mail kitchen gloves that are made for people who cut themselves a lot. It’s just that you put gloves on me and I’m even clumsier than I am without them. Maybe bubble wrap IS the way to go. Or get someone else to do KP.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

