Okay, Let’s Discuss Style… Yet Again

Which style should we discuss? There are so many…

  • The mode of living style, as with respect to: expense or display. Well, in that sense of style, I am a homeowner who is perpetually, financially shackled to shabby— let’s throw the word chic after shabby, so it seems as if shabby is an intentional, conscious effort. “Shabby chic”, implies that my shabby abode is somehow elevated high above those other shabby abodes which have been abandoned and boarded up. You do have to admire those others for the extra effort they expend taking their shabby to the next level. 
  • The lifestyle style, an elegant, fashionable, or luxurious mode of living: to live in style. I do this! Or rather, I know how to do this. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe this is when you opt for a Starbucks coffee, rather than a Duncan Donuts coffee. Starbucks uses muted earth tones in its environmentally friendly friendly paper cups, which come with “sleeves” designed to protect your professionally manicured hand from any possible discomfort of heat emanating from the hot liquid through the virtuosity that is the cup. And of course, this cup is enhanced to the level of magnificence with mermaid artwork in the… I don’t know, what’s the word… “crest”? That other place, Dunkin Donuts, uses white styrofoam cups decorated with circus colors. Personally, I just carry a thermos of coffee from home, but, if I were to spend my chump change on coffee, I’d go with the more elegant, recyclable disposable cup. You only live once. 
  • Then, there is the personal appearance style: a mode of fashion, as in dress, especially good or approved fashion; elegance; smartness. Well, no fair. I wear a uniform most days. My self expression here is limited to: my jewelry, my hairstyle, my shoes, and my purse. In this, I am like those Russian Dancers, (Nureyev, Baryshnikov, etc), who defected to the United States in the 70’s for “artistic freedom”. I am screaming for my artistic freedom with my clown shoes, my loud patchwork purse, and my ear cuffs. My hair… obviously I gave up there, but the rest shows that in me, is the tortured soul of an artist, ensnared in a paycheck whore’s body.
  • The last type of style I will discuss today is the one in which I feel most vulnerable: the mode of expressing thought in writing or speaking by selecting and arranging words, considered with respect to clearness, effectiveness, euphony, or the like, that is characteristic of a group, period, person, personality, etc.: to write in the style of Faulkner; a familiar style; a pompous, pedantic style. Oh how I long to have a writing style that is something other than snarky. 

_________________________________________________
The Daily Post, Aug 4, 2015, Daily Prompt: Style Icon~ Describe your personal style, however you’d like to interpret that — your clothing style, your communication style, your hair style, your eating style, anything.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/style-icon/”>Style Icon</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/style-icon/”>Style Icon</a>

6 thoughts on “Okay, Let’s Discuss Style… Yet Again

Leave a Reply

