The Folly of Optimism

“Imagine every possible contradiction and inconsistency, and you will find them in government, the law-courts, the churches, and in the whole life of this absurd nation.”Candide~ Voltaire

Optimism is a form of blindness. It is an unwillingness to see, to be oblivious to worlds harsh realities. I won’t list them.

Likewise, patriotism is a form of blindness. It’s an unwillingness to see all the world’s people as human. Patriotism is a brash, conceited separating of your country from the world, in the interest of self importance. To fight a war over patriotism is to sacrifice many lives for a small elite group of politicians who are hungry for power. 

“The optimist sees the doughnut, the pessimist sees the hole.” Oscar Wilde

Speaking of hungry, I do admit to a high level of optimism. It’s a tool I use to function. If I lived in the part of my brain that clearly acknowledges all the realities of the world, I don’t know that I could function in my daily life. So, I choose what I can live with, and ignore the rest.

Patriotic – From the < Greek patriṓtēs fellow-countryman, lineage member.

No, I am not patriotic. Are you? _______________________________________
The Daily Post, August 16, 2015, Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance ~ Are you patriotic? What does being patriotic mean to you?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-pledge-allegiance/”>I Pledge Allegiance</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-pledge-allegiance/”>I Pledge Allegiance</a>

4 thoughts on “The Folly of Optimism

  1. Likewise, patriotism is a form of blindness. It’s an unwillingness to see all the world’s people as human. Patriotism is a brash, conceited separating of your country from the world, in the interest of self importance. To fight a war over patriotism is to sacrifice many lives for a small elite group of politicians who are hungry for power. –A wise statement and well put!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

