Typing With Thumbs

In

2002 

I was gifted 

An IPod touch.  

To share 

With my ex

I remember 

Looking at the giver 

My in-law

Wondering why

He thought 

I had time for this

I sound ungrateful  

But

With three children 

Under five 

And crazy work hours

I didn’t have time 

To shave both legs

On the same day

I was sure

My name was

An afterthought on the gift 

It was not intended for me 

Two years later

The ex traded up

The iPod became mine

I stopped writing

On paper

With ink

And instead 

Use tiny electronics

Typing

With my thumbs 

____________________________

The Daily Post, September 11, 2015, Daily Prompt: Handwritten~ When was the last time you wrote something by hand? What was it?
<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/handwritten/”>Handwritten</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/handwritten/”>Handwritten</a&gt;

6 thoughts on “Typing With Thumbs

Leave a Reply

