Six Reasons I Believe I Have Not Turned Into My Mother:

1• My mother has always worn mom clothes. I do not wear mom clothes. I know this because my teenaged daughters constantly steal my clothes. I have never taken my mother’s clothes, and I can not think of anything that would have been more humiliating for me, than showing up at my high school wearing my mom’s clothes. Nothing in my closet (other than support hose) says “mom”… then again, nothing in my closet says anything, because all of my clothes have been stolen.

2• I am not a fan of cooking, and as such, I don’t recite recipes. If you compliment my mothers cooking, she will tell you how she made it. She will take longer to explain how she cooked something than it actually takes to cook it. If you compliment my cooking, I will tell you that I purchased the meal fully cooked. 

3• My mom used to watch Magnum PI, and every once in a while during the show, she would sigh loudly and utter “Oh mercy!” I am very different. I quietly watch my Pride and Prejudice mini series DVD over and over again, and just feel sad.

4• My mother is chronically early. If I want her to come over at five, I tell her to come at six. Tell me six, I’m there at six. 

5• My mother always has a puzzle in the works. My life is all the puzzle I need.  

6• Like my mother, I’ve always worked. I can not remember ever hearing my mother say she was tired. Was she actually not tired, or was she just not talking about it? I don’t know the answer. I think I’ll call my mom and ask her…maybe tomorrow, because right now I’m just so damned tired.
_________________________________

The Daily Post, September 20, 2015, Daily Prompt: I’ve Become My Parents~ Do you ever find yourself doing something your parents used to do when you were a kid, despite the fact you hated it back then?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ive-become-my-parents/”>I’ve Become My Parents</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ive-become-my-parents/”>I’ve Become My Parents</a>

9 thoughts on “Six Reasons I Believe I Have Not Turned Into My Mother:

Leave a Reply

