Austen Me This

It has been done and redone. Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” has been rewritten a multitude of times by a multitude of authors, each rewrite with a different ending or a different twist, or the story has been continued where the original ended. I will admit to knowing this because I have read dozens of these books. While they are not doing anything for my IQ, reading them is a harmless hobby. Well, I’m only harming myself, because with each reading of one of these variation/bastardizations of that Austen book, I find myself losing touch with reality, just a smidgen more.  

That fact begs to ask: If I could completely step out of my own dwindling reality, and instead spend a day with any fictional character, would it be wise to spend that day in Regency England with my lifelong fantasy man, Fitzwilliam Darcy? I may be teetering on the precipice of insanity, but I know that scenario would not bode well for me. Refuse a chance to come face to face with my hearts fictitious desire…why? I’ll tell you why. While my fantasy age is irrelevant, my real age would cast me in the roll of Mrs Bennet— Mr. Darcy’s ridiculous would be future mother in law. What kind of romance would there be in that be for me? No and thank you. 

The only solution would be for me to enter the realm of fiction in the more depressing Austen novel, “Persuasion.” Captain Wentworth, I suppose, will have to do. How would we pass our time on that fantasy day? As we walk along the Lyme sea shore I will jump off the stone steps into his arms saying “catch me.”  I don’t know what else we could do. He’s no Mr. Darcy.
__________________________________
The Daily Post, September 22, 2015, Daily Post: A Storybook Day~ You have to spend one day as or with your favorite fictional character. Which one would it be and what would you do?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/a-storybook-day/”>A Storybook Day</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/a-storybook-day/”>A Storybook Day</a>

6 thoughts on “Austen Me This

Leave a Reply

