Your Face

The first time I saw you my heart skipped a beat

I forgot to exhale, nearly tripped on my feet

The statue David, next to you was quite mild

The sun rose, angels wept, and I sighed when you smiled

Since that meeting we’ve chatted, I’m sorry to say

I’m not really sure what I saw in you that day

How my pulse raced, skin flushed, I trembled inside

It’s clear to me now you suffer excessive pride

For as much as I thought I admired you

You admire yourself that much…(ahem) x 2

Though I appreciate your beauty and chiseled good looks

Given a choice I prefer home, alone with a book 

__________________________________

The Daily Post, September 23, 2015, Daily Prompt: Night and Day~ Have you ever had an experience that was amazing the first time, but terrible the second time around? Or vice versa? What made it different the second time?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/night-and-day/”>Night and Day</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/night-and-day/”>Night and Day</a>

5 thoughts on “Your Face

Leave a Reply

