Something Poignant

In an attempt to showcase my depth of emotion by expounding on milestones in my life that awakened a sense of adulthood not previously acknowledged, I will make something up…

My day starts with a moment of clarity, the realization that there is no Santa Claus, and then I am plagued with the onset of menstruation, followed by my first hangover—the clock strikes noon. 

There are three scenarios that could explain this morning filled with a rapid succession of life events: 1) I am a twelve year old girl who lives a sheltered life and has a poor moral philosophy. 2) I am having a near death experience, and my life is flashing before me. 3) I am a mayfly, and my lifespan is twenty four hours. 

None of the choices is appealing.

The truth is, I can’t remember feeling like a child. Does anyone?

_______________________________________

The Daily Post, September 27, 2015, Daily Prompt: When Childhood Ends~ Write about a defining moment in your life when you were forced to grow up in an instant (or a series of instants).<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/when-childhood-ends/”>When Childhood Ends</a><a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/when-childhood-ends/”>When Childhood Ends</a>

6 thoughts on “Something Poignant

  1. Some of my best years were in my childhood. Unfortunately some of my worst years were too. Did you know there’s no like button on your posts anymore?💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did not know that Kathy, I just assumed I wasn’t producing anything worth liking. I wonder what happened. I’ll try to figure it out. Thanks for the heads up. I must say that I noticed the same on your posts a while ago. 😉

      Like

      1. If you find out what’s up let me know how to fix. I’ve seen quite a few others that only have comment activation as well. I always read your stuff. You brighten my days!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Kathy,
        In WP Admin/dashboard/settings/posts/all posts, then click on the individual post edit button, if you scroll down to the bottom you will see two boxes to check one for likes, one for shares. Mine for some reason we’re unchecked. I think the like button is back on that post, but it looks like I’ll have to do that every time I post, unless I can find a way to turn it back on to automatic setting for each post. Grrr…technology!

        Like

Leave a Reply

