Possessions

What is my most prized possession?

I find that an empty and pointless question

As I have nothing to leave those in my succession

But a lifelong struggle with mild depression

Which will intensify with the progression

Of life’s responsibilities and the subsequent suppression

Of creative outlets and freedom of expression

As with my job- which I speak of with discretion

Though it’s been wrought with wage and work rule concessions

And a lifestyle not of a typical convention

I have a somewhat predictable confession

With the knowledge that children are people and not possessions 

I am without an answer to this question

Because I have no prized possessions

__________________________________

The Daily Post, October 25, 2015, Daily Prompt: Pride and Joy~ What’s your most prized possession?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/pride-and-joy/”>Pride and Joy</a>

6 thoughts on “Possessions

Leave a Reply

