If I Only Had the Nerve

“There’s no place like home.” ~ The Wizard of Oz

I often question the merits of homeownership. What’s in it for me, besides endless chores and a lifetime replete with the drudgery of mowing lawns, raking leaves, shoveling snow? I won’t mention the regular maintenance on the furnace and air conditioning unit, the water softener, water heater, the sump pump, etc. Then there are always the unforeseen problems, like a crumbling driveway, electrical issues, and a leaky roof. It’s too much. These responsibilities are not fun for a person short on time or the funds to hire help. 

“Surrender Dorothy” ~The Wizard of Oz

As a homeowner, I feel like I’ve been playing an endless game of poker, and I’ve been bluffing since the cards were dealt, playing with a hand I don’t have. My luck has finally run out. 

“Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain!” ~The Wizard of Oz

I have a fantasy: The calendar says Autumn, and with a hug and a kiss and a wave of my hand, my spawn are off to college. The hand that isn’t waving is holding a phone, and it’s dialing a realtor. 

“Begone, before somebody drops a house on you too.” ~The Wizard of Oz

I pack my dog in a basket and go somewhere… over the rainbow, somewhere like Emerald City. I never look back, and the weight of the world has been lifted off my shoulders. 

“You had the power all along my dear.” ~The Wizard of Oz

As I said, this is a fantasy, not a plan. I have no exit strategy. I need to follow the yellow brick road myself with the hope that The Great and Powerful Oz himself will assist me… 

“Nobody gets in to see the wizard. Not nobody.” ~ The Wizard of Oz

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Daily Post, October 27, 2015, Daily Prompt: If You Leave~ Life is a series of beginnings and endings. We leave one job to start another; we quit cities, countries, or continents for a fresh start; we leave lovers and begin new relationships. What was the last thing you contemplated leaving? What were the pros and cons? Have you made up your mind? What will you choose?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/if-you-leave/”>If You Leave</a>

One thought on “If I Only Had the Nerve

Leave a Reply

