System Failure

A system failure
Thermostat light 
Another repair bill
This is my plight 

A stain of ink 
On my nice shirt
A child’s wardrobe 
One more growth spurt

A school lunch card
Needs to be filled
The pot of soup
Has tipped and spilled

The vet orders costly
Blood work done
On an aging dog
But a healthy one

A pricey school trip 
My child will miss
In paying fees
I’ve been remiss

No matter how 
I work and try 
To make ends meet 
I come up shy

The dog needs: heart-guard 
And to be groomed
The state of finances 
Forever doomed

A clothes dryer 
That doesn’t dry
All I can do
Somedays is try

I’m not the type (much)
To complain
But now a hair clogged
Bathroom drain

A porch light
That won’t turn on
The neighbors dog
Dumped on my lawn

Plates falling off
A collapsing shelf
This too shall pass 
I tell myself

In the vast scheme 
Of life on earth
My problems are small
For what it’s worth
_______________________________

The Daily Post, October 29, 2015, Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors (and bonus assignment): Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” Write about a time everything did — fiction encouraged here, too!<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/comedy-of-errors-and-bonus-assignment/”>Comedy of Errors (and bonus assignment!)</a>

One thought on “System Failure

  1. Has a mother ever achieved sainthood? Other than Mother Theresa? Loved your poem. Sympathize with it’s topic…But, it could be worse, for instance–http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/10/29/the-avid-student-meets-murphys-law/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

