Happily Delusional

“All are lunatics, but he who can analyze his delusion is called a philosopher”   ~Ambrose Bierce

In my mind my life is perfect
As it has always been
Far back as I remember 
Is where this tale begins

Fields festooned with fragrant flowers
A whisper of lilac in the air
From the shimmering cerulean sky
A breeze billows through my hair

My imaginary friend with me
We sing and laugh and run 
We play with my delusive dog
I imagine this is fun

My mythological mother 
Never had to work
My dreamed up dad was kind
He never yelled or went berserk

I imagined my way through childhood
And when I became a teen
My mind conjured a boyfriend
One no one has ever seen

He was perfectly made up
Of all I wanted him to be
A brilliant combination 
Rhett Butler, Thor, Mr Darcy

One day I thought I grew up
And I married a real man
I imagined him wholehearted
Sadly he was Peter Pan 

I’m back with my imaginary
Boyfriend from the past
I imagine this relationship 
Is destined to be my last 

In my mind my life is perfect
As it has always been
Happily delusional 
And possibly insane

_________________________________

The Daily Post, October 30, 2015, Daily Prompt: Imaginary Friends~ Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/imaginary-friend/”>Imaginary Friend</a>

One thought on “Happily Delusional

Leave a Reply

