Poisoned 

“There are certain persons for whom pure truth is a poison.”~ Andre Maurios

Pure truth is a poison for us all. We lie to ourselves more than to others. Lying to myself is how I function. “It’s all good.” Really? Sometimes I believe it.

What would the world be like if we couldn’t lie to ourselves on a regular basis, if we all realized with clarity that our world is not what we tell ourselves it is? Would this forced acknowledgement be enough to prompt us to change our lives for the better, into what we’ve misrepresented it as, or would we just live in the misery of the truth as it is? 

If I had one vial of truth serum I would give it to my children and ask: Who ate my chocolate?  

__________________________________

The Daily Post, November 7, 2015, Daily Post: Truth Serum~ You’ve come into possession of one vial of truth serum. Who would you give it to (with the person’s consent, of course) — and what questions would you ask?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/truth-serum/”>Truth Serum</a>

4 thoughts on “Poisoned 

  1. I love that opening: “Pure truth is a poison for us all.” I couldn’t agree with you more. As for the serum for the kids, my mother would undoubtedly have done the same thing/had the EXACT same question about the chocolate. (I was the daughter though who eventually always gave herself up.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

