A Confession

I once disappeared in the late afternoon

The winter sky dark, lit soleley by a cresting moon

Not a trail of breadcrumbs or a note left behind

My teenagers abandoned, for I was disinclined

To share with them my secret location

The ultimate goal was their alienation 

Up in my bedroom I was at peace unseen 

A good book and a big bed fit a queen

My guilty pleasure, my idea of heaven

A heated mattress pad cranked up to eleven

Were I wealthy, or even not quite so poor

I’d never get up and I’d put a lock on my door _________________________

The Daily Post, November 9, 2015, Daily Prompt: No Apologies~ What’s the one guilty pleasure you have that’s so good, you no longer feel guilty about it?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/no-apologies/”>No Apologies</a>

Leave a Reply

