Christmas Charade

On Christmas I pretend

That I know how to entertain

Friends and family eat my food

It is odd they don’t complain

My old house as if a home

Is fairly well disguised

With an artificial Christmas tree

I feign I’m civilized

I affect knowledge to prepare

A feast that is extensive

Guests act as if it’s edible

Yet I still feel apprehensive

I’m afraid it will be clear one day

I don’t know how to cook

I’m loath to be discovered 

And to see their knowing looks
__________________________________

The Daly Post, November 17, 2015, Daily Prompt: Are you full of confidence or have you ever suffered from Imposter Syndrome? Tell us all about it.~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-great-pretender/”>The Great Pretender</a>

One thought on “Christmas Charade

Leave a Reply

