Love You Forever, but…

In an attempt to declutter my house, with the ultimate goal being to eventually downsize, I’ve donated quite a few items to goodwill in recent months. I’ve boxed up and donated clothes, old toys, children’s furniture, and quite a few books that I deemed not worth keeping. As I looked through children’s books I found some that filled me with happy memories and I am saving those. I found one book that made me cringe, and it went into the donation box.

This one was a best selling children’s book that received rave reviews. The book is “Love You Forever” by Robert Munsch, and I must say that I wonder why no one else seemed disturbed by this creepy book when it was published. 

The book starts out very sweetly: A young boy in his moms arms as she sings him a lullaby, “Love You Forever”. He gradually grows, and is a typical stinker, however every night his mother goes into his room and holds him in her arms as she rocks in a rocking chair and sings that lullaby, “Love You Forever.”

As the book progresses, the illustrations show a bigger and bigger boy sitting on his moms lap in that same rocking chair. Finally he is an adult man, and she still sneaks into his room to continue the tradition.

The mother ages, becoming frail, and the tables eventually turn. The man sneaks into his mother’s room to rock her as he sings his version of the lullaby to her, and she dies in his arms. I feel like I need hand sanitizer because I held this icky book. This is reminiscent of the relationship Norman Bates had with his mother in “Psycho”. 

The book ends when the son, a man whose mother died in his arms in the same old chair, rocks his baby daughter in his arms, again—in the same chair, and sings the same lullaby to her. Hakuna matata, it’s the circle of life.

As the World’s Greatest Mom, (my credentials are a t-shirt), my parenting strategy differs from the one applied in this book. When my children were children, and looked to me for their constant entertainment, I read to them nightly. Now that they’re teenagers, they frown upon that idea, so I read to myself. In doing this, I’ve allowed my children to separate from me, and that is what is supposed to happen. Teenagers are jerks to make this process of separation easier to accept…it’s their job. I can not imagine myself sneaking into my teenagers bedrooms to rock them and sing a lullaby to them. I also know they wouldn’t appreciate it.

Let’s say this is my problem, and not an unhealthy relationship between the mom and son in the book. I would still like to have a talk with this young man’s wife. I’d like to ask her what it was like to have her mother in law sneak into her house and her bedroom, at night. I’d also like to know if she was aware that her husband was sneaking out at night to visit his mother, to rock and sing to her. Maybe it’s just me.

___________________________

The Daily Post, November 20, 2015, Daily Prompt: It Builds Character~ Tell us about a favorite character from film, theater, or literature, with whom you’d like to have a heart-to-heart. What would you talk about?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/it-builds-character/”>It Builds Character</a>

10 thoughts on “Love You Forever, but…

  1. It’s not just you! I love the concept of the story of how life demands we take care of each other, but the thought of rocking my grown son to sleep is preposterous. I can’t imagine him doing the same to me either. I never read this book until my children were adults. I sometimes wonder if there are hidden messages in there somewhere. Creepy is right!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

