Feeling Guilty

“There is a luxury in self-reproach. When we blame ourselves, we feel that no one else has a right to blame us. It is the confession, not the priest, that gives us absolution.”

Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

In a perfect world my house would shine to a brilliant sparkle, my refrigerator would always be fully stocked with healthy meals that I would have prepared in advance, my teenaged offspring would feel the comfort of being well cared for…loved and safe in the nest I’ve built. They would know that their mother was home if they needed her. I would be available to attend all of their plays, and I’d never miss a sporting event or concert. We would take family trips. The world would be butterflies and rainbows. 

Instead, each morning before I’ve left for work I have experienced feelings of extreme guilt several times. The primary source of the guilt I feel is the fact that I can not be two people. Since I am only one person, I am also the provider of the essentials that only money can buy: shelter, food, clothes, education, transportation, spending money. 

I am one person who feels the guilt of two. I over think every decision I make, which leads me to feelings of guilt over how all of it will affect others. Compassion and empathy are overrated qualities that lead to guilt…how can they not. 

“So full of artless jealousy is guilt,

It spills itself in fearing to be spilt.”

William Shakespeare, Hamlet

The parental guilt I feel is for everything I can’t do, everything I can’t provide, anything that happens to my children that I could have somehow prevented. I feel guilt because I could have done everything better, and given my children better memories.

Because I am an overachiever, I also suffer from pet owner guilt. Every morning when my alarm goes off I kick the dogs out of the comfort of my warm bed so that I can keep on schedule. To leave the house and my dogs fills me with guilt. Why can’t I find the time to frolic at the dog park? Why can’t I let the lizard have free run of the house?

I often say I’m doing the best I can with what I have to work with, knowing full well that had I made different choices years ago I might have more to work with now.

I am not completely selfless. I also feel guilt for myself. I work too much. I don’t give myself time to do what is important to me. I need a hair cut. Friendships are not enough of a priority. I should exercise more. I should enjoy today instead of hoping I’ll enjoy tomorrow. I should stop feeling guilty about feeling guilty.
_____________________________

The Daily Post, December 1, 2015, Daily Prompt: The Guilt that Haunts Me~ Share a time when you were overcome with guilt. What were the circumstances? How did you overcome you guilt?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-guilt-that-haunts-me/”>The Guilt that Haunts Me</a>

11 thoughts on “Feeling Guilty

  1. Guilt is a natural mother thing. My kids are grown and gone and I still have dreams about not making their lunches for school. I never did that, BTW, but guilt can creep into your brain like a leaky faucet, begging to be repaired. These days will pass, but don’t count on the discontinuance of guilt. We go to the grave with it.😕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi fellow mommy blogger!

    What a great post, I love the quote by Oscar Wilde, I’ve never heard it before! What a smart man he was!

    If you’re interested, I wanted to invite you to a mom blogger community that will have specific advice for mom bloggers like yourself! Helpful tips on how to manage cooking dinner for your family while pushing out a post during the day. Or if you’d like to get more in depth with your blog, how to monetize it and stand out in the sea of 14 million other mommy blogs. If you’re interested, I’d love to welcome you! Please check it out here: http://www.startamomblog.com

    Have a wonderful holiday season! Hugs, Suzi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t do the pet one, but all your other guilts ate me incessantly. What can I say? My kids are now all responsible adult citizens who don’t seem to hold it against me. In fact they’re pretty fabulous really, and probably wiser than if they’d had those idyllic childhoods that those who know NOTHING of reality shoot off their sanctimonious mouths about. You’re doing a fabulous job. It sucks though, doesn’t it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

