Backpacking Europe

As my midlife crisis begins to wane
One item on my bucket remains
I never backpacked Europe in my youth
I regret the omission to tell you the truth

If I were twenty one years old today
I’d grab my passport without delay
In twelve weeks time, Eurail Pass in hand
England, France, Italy, Spain, Scotland

Red wine in Bordeaux, I’d visit Cornwall
Ride a gondola on a Venetian Canal 
Cathedrals, castles, museums of art
I’d see Rome and Madrid, before I depart

There is a good reason one must be young
For this right of passage that we all should have done
That much time off and the funds required
May not be seen again until you’ve retired
_________________________________

The Daily Post, December 3, 2015, Daily Post: The Wanderer~ Tell us about the top five places you’ve always wanted to visit.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-wanderer/”>The Wanderer</a>

6 thoughts on “Backpacking Europe

Leave a Reply

