Me by Any Other Name

Life offers no guarantees. Very few things go as I plan. I spent over an hour writing today’s post, only to have it vanish in front of my eyes, spontaneously combust, poof…lost in cyberspace. I guess it wasn’t meant to be. I can’t remember what the point of it was. I do know with all certainty that it was a work of genius, and although I have no idea what I wrote, it was the best piece of literature ever penned by me or anyone who looks like me but answers to other names. Which brings forth some random thoughts:

Early this morning the older man who checks people in at the gym that I belong to greeted me with: “Hello Linda, how are you this morning?” He was very proud of himself for remembering my name without the benefit of looking at my membership card. He was right about one thing: it was morning. I just smiled and said good morning. Although not in the correct order, he had 4 of the 5 letters of my name right, so I’ll give him a B for effort. I can be Linda when I’m at the YMCA, because I am “Litia” to the pizza guy. 3 of 5 letters correct gives the pizza guy a C.

I couldn’t really get upset with him, because the other day someone at work called me Natalie…that’s a D- because I wear a name tag at work. I have however always liked that name, so I didn’t correct her either. I was Natalie all day. Natalie is not the same as Lydia, and answering to the name Natalie, I felt like a helium balloon that wasn’t floating quite right. All the other balloons were strong, and pulling against the resistance applied by the strings that kept them from disappearing into the atmosphere, but Natalie’s string had slack, and she wafted sideways until everyone once in a while she’d get yanked back in line with the more vital balloons. 

In answer to today’s prompt, Natalie likes the dark chocolate and sea salt combination. She doesn’t know who came up with it, but thinks there must be a Pulitzer Prize we can award them. 

__________________________________

Pour Some Sugar on Me~ The Daily Post, December 8, 2015, Daily Prompt: What is your favorite sweet thing to eat? Bread pudding? Chocolate chip oatmeal cookies? A smooth and creamy piece of cheesecake? Tell us all about the anticipation and delight of eating your favorite dessert. Not into sweets? Tell us all about your weakness for that certain salty snack.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/pour-some-sugar-on-me/”>Pour Some Sugar on Me</a>

7 thoughts on “Me by Any Other Name

  1. A humorous piece of writing. Loved the part about the ‘helium balloon that wasn’t floating quite right.’ Whoever invented just chocolate certainly does deserves a special award.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A lot from Lydia

Leave a Reply

