Good Times in Sickness

I used to think that moms are not allowed to get sick; now I think that’s only true when the kids are little. When our spawn become teenagers we allow ourselves to get sick, and we use it to our advantage. We need to use all of the resources that are available to us when we have teenagers, because raising teenagers is like war, and all is fair in love and war.  

The last time I was sick was in May, when my appendix tried to kill me. (dramatic license under review) My older daughter and I had been in a power struggle that started when she turned eighteen, and when the appendix revolted she was approaching her nineteenth birthday. That’s almost a full year that we had been at each other’s throats. Enter sharp pain downstage right.

I needed a ride to the emergency room, so when she offered to drive me I gave up the power struggle and let her be the adult she wanted to be. She drove me…my baby Zoe. I didn’t go off to surgery until morning, and she sat at my bedside the entire night. We laughed joked and made rubber glove animals. It was side splitting humor all night long…or was the appendix side splitting? Either way, I had tears in my eyes from laughing. 

I had such a good time that night that I’d like to do it again, maybe once a month mother and daughter ER night. That idea could be my ticket out of this dump. Where was she when I was giving birth? Oh, I guess she was there then too. I don’t have great memories of that night though. The appendix was a lot more fun…it might have had something to do with the morphine drip. 

_____________________________

The Daily Post, December 20, 2015, Daily Prompt: Take Care~ When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/take-care/”>Take Care</a>

2 thoughts on “Good Times in Sickness

Leave a Reply

