Sports

Born and raised in Chicago, the subject of sports is synonymous with disappointment. As a method of self preservation, my mind has taken it upon itself to protect me from harm. Mention sports, my trigger, and I slip into a deep hypnotic trance:

I let go… absorbed in a zone, lost in thought, enthralled by bliss, in a state of trance that the topic of sports has guided me into. I am on a journey, a metaphorical trip in my mind. I am able to hear and sense things but, I’m not listening to the words (football, baseball, hockey, basketball). Amazing things happen: my breathing slows, my muscles become relaxed, I feel a sense of distance from where I am, the passage of time becomes distorted, I am blanketed in a pleasant euphoric state of peace…
until the conversation takes another turn, and then I’m back.

Am I a sports fan? No. 

_______________________________

The Daily Post, December 20, 2015, Daily Prompt: Fandom~ Are you a sports fan? Tell us about fandom. If you’re not, tell us why not.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fandom/”>Fandom</a&gt;

One thought on “Sports

Leave a Reply

