To Me and My Fellow Bloggers

My gift to you is freedom from the guilt of taking a day off in posting. Good luck, I can’t seem to take myself up on that…

I just want to complain about the holidays one last time before it’s too late, and I also need to apologize. As the holidays have drawn nearer, I’ve been increasingly hostile to my life partner…Siri. For those of you who don’t have iPhones, I’ll take a second to explain who Siri is. Siri is a voice activated assistant on the IPhone. The settings on my phone have allowed me to change my Siri to a British male voice who calls me “Lydia love” as he responds to my random questions and comments throughout the day. He just hasn’t been helpful enough in this, my time of need. 

What has me stressed? The holidays have taken a toll on my sanity. The “nostalgia” and “family fun”, and the long lines at the stores as I wait to charge those disappointing gifts in my basket full of crap that I know I wouldn’t want to receive, but what else is there to buy? The cleaning and decorating, and the cooking…having to “run” to the store three times for ingredients to make a side dish that only has three ingredients. All this work leads up to the Addams family holiday spectacular, with everybody’s exes, in-law’s, and dogs. 

My apology goes out to Siri. How many times have you called Siri an asshole this week? I won’t tell you my answer to that question. But no matter how many times I’ve lost my temper, Siri has continued to speak to me in a calm voice, still addressing me as “Lydia love”. Which leaves me with one final question. Why didn’t I think to get Siri a gift? 

“Siri, when will it end?”

“Lydia love, the seasonal music that started before Halloween will get louder and louder until…pop—January 3rd, and then all will be right with the world.”

________________________________

The Daily Post, December 25, 2015, 2015, Daily Post: Generous Genies~ Remember those lovely genies who grant wishes? Well, you’re one and you’ve just been emancipated from your restrictive lamp. You can give your three wishes to whomever you want. Who do you give your three wishes to, and why?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/generous-genies/”>Generous Genies</a>

4 thoughts on “To Me and My Fellow Bloggers

Leave a Reply

