The Propitious One

“Nothing is as obnoxious as other people’s luck.” 
~ F. Scott Fitzgerald 

I’ve read the quotes that all the great and powerful geniuses extol, touting their singular belief that “hard work and diligence is the only luck there is”, but I cry foul…because I know for a fact that some people do have all the luck. Some people are born with silver horseshoes jammy’d up their arses. 

My phone rings…it’s her. The propitious one is no doubt calling to update me on the status of her lifelong winning streak. She is the type of person who constantly pushes her luck, and like a siamese cat wearing a diamond collar, she always lands on her feet looking great. She typically leaves for work thirty minutes after I ever would, and yet she almost always makes it. If she is late, she never gets caught…ever.  

I wonder why this person is my friend. I do try to be selfless and supporting, but I’m battling my annual holiday stress induced head cold. My face hurts. I have a relentless headache. This time of year is bleak: the shortest days of the year, grey dismal fog spitting out shards of freezing rain, my end of the year life assessment is knocking at my conscience. I’m still plodding through the muck. 

Outside, the freezing rain has actually stuck and has become the heaviest kind of slushy snow I’ll ever have the pleasure of shoveling, so heavy that my abs are sore just thinking about clearing the driveway. Do I want to answer the phone when I’m feeling this sorry for myself?

I pick up. 

My serendipitous friend: “Oh hi! Hey, that $5. Secret Santa gift I got was a scratch off lottery ticket, and guess who won $5,000?”
Me: “awesome.”
SF: “Did I tell you I met someone, and we’re dating? He is the most amazing man.” 
Me: “no, that’s great.”
SF: “Work is great, just got a crazy bonus.”
Me: “___”
SF: “Anyway, last night I arrived at the airport thirty minutes after the flight was scheduled to depart, but guess what? The flight was delayed an hour because of the weather, and now I’m sitting on a lounge chair on the beach in St Bart drinking a pina colada, because after all that the meeting was cancelled…so what’s going on with you?” 
Me: “oh nothing…just about to dig into the last of the holiday leftovers: five day old stuffing and hockey puck biscuits…why don’t you text me a picture of the beach you’re sitting on so I can be jealous.” 
SF: “Will do! Listen, I’ll catch up with you in a few days, I’ve got to go. It’s time to get ready for some deep sea fishing.”

Nothing is as obnoxious as other people’s luck.

* The above text is a work of fiction based on real events and real people. Names have been omitted to protect the fortunate ones.

________________________________

The Daily Post, December 29, 2015, Daily Prompt: Ear Worm~ Write whatever you normally write about, and weave in a book quote, film quote, or song lyric that’s been sticking with you this week.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/earworm-2/”>Earworm</a&gt;

8 thoughts on “The Propitious One

Leave a Reply

