If I Could Be Anyone…

Tomorrow you get to become anyone in the world that you wish. Who are you? You can choose to be anyone alive today, or someone gone long ago. If you decide to stay “you” share your rationale.

I often think, when I see people who seem to have everything, that I must be doing something wrong. I typically don’t mind my life because my choices brought me where I am, and I realize things could always be worse. I remind myself that regardless of how perfect people’s lives appear to be, everyone has problems.

Having said that, life could also always be better, as is more apparent during this time of year. This is the time of year when happy couples gather together to toast each other and revel in their coupledom under the guise of the “holiday party”. Because I am the personification of seasonal mirth, I find myself on the receiving end of a fair number of invitations to said holiday events. It is no secret that I am single. Unfortunately, that fact has not rendered me a complete social outcast, and that puts me in an awkward position.

My first impulse as I tear open these online party invites is to extend my trigger finger and click the accept invite button, but just before I make contact I notice that I am invited as Lydia +1 …dun dun dun. I retract my trigger finger and return it to its holster. With an entirely different finger I click on guest list—of course they are all couples. Among all of them I only know half of three of the couples. 

In spite of being the personification of seasonal mirth, I am moderately socially phobic. When I was young and less self aware, in this type of a situation…wait, I don’t remember being in this situation in my young pre-marriage days…more people were single when I was that age. 

This conundrum has become a regular part of my post divorce life, and I need to figure it out. The easiest thing would be to decline the invitation, but if I do that once too often, I’ll find myself permanently off all future guest lists, and I may not always be without a +1.

How I respond to this invitation will set a precedent for how I handle future invitations. Do I invite a friend and risk rumors that my predilections lean toward female companionship, and thus risk complete loss of interest by the male species? (If there were any) Do I attend alone, and pretend not to be aware that I have become a topic of conversation regarding the prevalence of divorce among women of a certain age in modern society, and the reasons the phenomenon exists? I could say I have a date, play the part of a woman whose date, (an astro-physicist who is stuck in some weird space shuttle traffic situation), may not make it to the party after all. My options are sad.

In answer to today’s prompt, if I can’t be my dog, I’ll stay who I am.

_________________________________

The Daily Post, December 31, 2015, Daily Prompt: A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/a-brand-new-you-effective-tomorrow/”>A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow</a> 

6 thoughts on “If I Could Be Anyone…

  1. Happy New Year! I did go to a party just two blocks away but I’m home early. Only knew four people there so met lots of new people–all but 4 Spanish-speaking so I polished off my party Spanish. Now home at 10:30 to say Happy New Year to you–among others…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

