Looking Down

In life there are some things that people are willing to risk their health over, stubbornly ignoring statistics, reason, and common sense. Some people smoke cigarettes, some people drink to excess, some people eat fried snickers bars at carnivals. I am no different. My bad is the high heeled shoe. 

Why would a person who has undergone numerous corrective foot procedures risk further injury? I know why I do it. I like to look down on people. I want the power position in all things…control. I want the chair that sits higher than the rest, I want to face the door, and I want to see what’s going on with the top of your head. How much control can a person exercise when they can barely walk? Let’s not quibble over facts. 

I was born of an average height…I believe 19.5″. Being average didn’t really bother me at that point, because all of my peers and I were laying down. As my life progressed through its various stages: crawling, standing, and so on, I grew a bit faster than would be expected. I peaked in height at an early age. I believe I was twelve years old when I reached my summit. I got a taste of the high life. I could tell you who among my classmates cared enough to part their hair as fashion dictated and who let their pillows do it. 

Alas, my vantage point was fleeting. A few years passed, and I found I was looking directly into people’s eyes, and in some cases up into their noses. Let me tell you, this is not my desired perspective. What could I possibly do to correct this tragic turn of events? Shoes with heels were my only option. 

I am a fan of towering heels. The higher the heel the more I covet it. Not necessarily a stiletto. I also like a chunky heel that I can crack nuts with. 

This became a real issue for me when my own children surpassed me in height. I was losing my sense of authority, so I kicked it up a notch. Finally at a 4.5″ heel, I had to cry uncle as my son has surpassed my height in any heel. Now in addition to my heels, I carry a step stool. 

*Photo Credit: Dead Poets Society _______________________________

The Daily Post, January 3, 2016, Daily Prompt: New Sensation~ Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/new-sensation/”>New Sensation</a>

4 thoughts on “Looking Down

  1. I’m 5’8″, tall for a woman in my age group (older than dirt). In my youth I loved wearing heels, but around the age of 30 I decided the pain wasn’t worth it. I might have a pair of boots with a 1″ heel, but that’s my limit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

