Normal

The “Jones'” purchased the house next to mine early this past spring. Since then, a constant flow of workers have been perfecting what started out as a beautiful house. I have no idea what projects are underway inside the house, but I can tell you that they have a yard service that manicures their foliage weekly from spring through fall, and plows snow off their drive and walkway in the winter. They have paved their circular driveway with red bricks, cut down two huge dead trees, and painted their gazebo to match the house. When I drive past on my way to or from work, I glance over and wonder what it would cost me to repair my crumbling driveway. I wonder, but I don’t covet.

What I do covet is intangible…I covet normal: weekends off, a family meal, a conversation uninterrupted by technology, peace, security, time…but not too normal.
_________________________________

The Daily Post, January 8, 2016, Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’~ Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/keeping-up-with-the-jones/”>Keeping up with the Jones’</a>

2 thoughts on “Normal

Leave a Reply

