Beard

“Daily Prompt: Morphing~ Language evolves. The meaning of a word can shift over time as we use it differently — think of “cool,” “heavy,” or even “literally.”Today, give a word an evolutionary push: give a common word a new meaning, explain it to us, and use it in the title of your post.”

For today’s prompt I choose the word beard. The alternative meaning I give it is: to save food for later. An example of my new word in use: “Waiter, I’d like to beard the rest of my sandwich.”

_______________________________
The Daily Post, January 15, 2016, <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/morphing/”>Morphing</a&gt;

6 thoughts on “Beard

    1. Well, it seems the new hipster look is to sport a full beard. I’ve never been a fan of facial hair. It’s hard for me to have a conversation with someone who has remnants of their last meal bobbing up and down in their beard. That was all I could come up with for the prompt yesterday! Sad 😉

      Like

  1. That was really good word-morphing! When I was a kid (early70s) there was a children’s story this reminded me of. In the story there was a bearded man with lots of tiny men inside his skull and they’d fetch his food scraps from his beard so they could eat! I can’t remember the story title, it might have been in a comic and I don’t remember much about it because I was so young but your post flashed that memory right back! Cheers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

