My Cup

My cup runneth over. Repeat as necessary. That is my prescription for sanity. I tell myself that I have this cup, and that it’s really full, and I believe it. The problem is that my cup is straining under its heavy load. My cup is replete with responsibilities, of which I will spare you the list of ingredients. In order to maintain a firm grip on all my marbles I tell myself happy lies, and on good days I can pretend they’re all true. On bad days I think about what I’m saying:

• Everything happens for a reason. (Like when I fell on the ice, or when my dog chewed up my favorite shoe, or violent crimes against innocent people…all those things? Okay, well maybe not everything.) 

• It’s all good. (Even in the best of times, it’s not all good. At best it’s mostly good.)

• Everything always works out in the end. (Well, I didn’t say everything works out the way you want it to in the end.)

• This too shall pass. (You might pass along with this, but it is true, everything eventually will end.)

I say these things to myself, and I hear myself saying these things to others because I have to believe them or I won’t get out of bed. 
The more specific the lies that I tell myself, the harder they are to believe: 

• When I return home from work, my house will be in the same general condition that I’m leaving it in. (Not with teenagers living in the house.)

• Someday I won’t have to work as much as I do now. (I have no exit strategy.)

• Exercising will keep me infinitely young and healthy. (That lie gets me to the gym, and then I believe I deserve to eat cake.) 

• If I put my dishes in the dishwasher they’ll be clean at the end of the cycle (my dishwasher has some issues, so this is a lie).

• There is a Mr. Darcy out there for me, and If I don’t get out of bed I’ll never meet him. (Whatever.)

I must keep my lies vague, and I must get out of bed. 
_______________________________

The Daily Post, January 18, 2016, Daily Prompt: Reason to Believe~ In Reason to Believe, Bruce Springsteen sings, “At the end of every hard-earned day / people find some reason to believe.” What’s your reason to believe?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/reason-to-believe/”>Reason to Believe</a>

6 thoughts on “My Cup

  1. An item not on the list is one that you fulfill with each of your posts – maintaining a sense of humor. This isn’t really a lie though. I’ve found in my long life, that if you can’t laugh at yourself you might as well never get out of bed. Love your writing, Lydia.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m new to your site! I don’t follow others that often, but it seems like you have a similar sense of humor. Yeah. 🙂

    My name is Sandi.

    BTW: Our dishwasher goes on for what seems like a decade on the “short” cycle. (and is not quiet) We chose to wash by hand for this reason. We have a 10 and 12 year old, and you can clean house at night, enjoy it for 10 minutes before hitting bed- wake, and it’s destroyed by the time the kids leave for school. We lie to ourselves (to briefly imagine what it would be like to have a working dishwasher and clean house.) It’s so nice. Oh, and we’ll be working until the day we die…but we avoid talking about that. 🙂 Retirement is not in our vocabulary. We tell ourselves that no one really owns those huge motorhomes and spend their lives traveling. That’s a lie made up by the motorhome manufacturers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the follow! I have thought about using a hidden camera to see exactly who is doing what to my house since no one will admit anything. A sense of humor is the only defense. The joys of parenthood… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

