Within Me

“In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.” ~Albert Camus 

We all have people in our lives whose company we enjoy more than others. Whether a relative, or a friend, they give us something we need…they made us feel good. Life is unpredictable, and people come and go for various reasons. It’s disappointing when people move on, but it’s part of life. There may come a point when you realize that the one person who has been by your side through every phase, good and bad, is you. You have been and will be there for you…until the end. I have come to that realization, and I am here to sell it to you. 

You are your best friend. You know what you like, there’s no power struggle over what to do, no fighting over a remote, you are not offended by your humor, you always understand what your trying to say, you always pick up your check, and if anyone is going to disappoint you, wouldn’t you want it to be you?

There is security in the knowledge that I don’t need life to go a certain way, and I don’t need another person to fill a certain role for the sun to come out. Albert Camus had a lot of great thoughts…granted this is the same man who asked: “Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee?” but, he eventually found his “invincible summer”.

________________________________

The Daily Post, January 22, 2016, Daily Prompt: My Favorite~ What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/my-favorite/”>My Favorite</a>

2 thoughts on “Within Me

Leave a Reply

